Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• Introduction

Hello,

I'm a recent graduate (May 2016). I have worked for a busy private practice outpatient clinic since graduation. While in school, I did not look into current research about anything I was taught. Since graduating and not having to worry about homework and studying, I have spent more time looking into research, listening to podcasts, reading PT blogs etc. Much of what I was taught in school and on clinicals doesn't appear to have as much relevance as I thought. There was so much more about pain science and biopsychosocial approach I feel I was not exposed to.

The majority of the PTs and PTAs I work with operate from a postural structural approach. Modalities everywhere. Check alignment of everything, visceral manipulation, spine/pelvic out of alignment, craniosacral, cupping, dry needling and manual for everything. The more I read, the more I feel I need to move towards a different approach. I don't have an in person mentor in the direction I'm heading, hope to find some guidance here. Been lurking for a few days and think this will be a great resource for my journey!

Welcome,

You can still learn a lot in "modality land" by observing those who are genuinely interested and engaged with their patients as opposed to those who process them with an eye on the clock for going home time.
    Jo Bowyer
    Chartered Physiotherapist Registered Osteopath.
    "Out beyond ideas of wrongdoing and rightdoing,there is a field. I'll meet you there." Rumi

Comment

Welcome.

Any classmates? Any that you might talk to?
      Barrett L. Dorko

Comment

Thank you both for the welcome.