The manipulation solution

Collapse
X
  • Filter
  • Time
  • Show
Clear All

• The manipulation solution

I am currently reading a textbook on microeconomics that, to my surprise, has an awful lot to say about what I do for a living. Even though the following selection is not specific to microeconomics, its early appearance in the book caught my attention.

Many people don't understand the role of theory. Perhaps you have heard, "Oh, that's fine in theory, but in practice it's another matter." The implication is that the theory provides little aid in practical matters. People who say this fail to realize that they are merely substituting their own theory for a theory they either do not believe or do not understand. They are really saying, "I have my own theory that works better."

All of us employ theories, however poorly defined or understood. Someone who pounds on the Pepsi machine that just ate a quarter has a crude theory about how that machine works and what went wrong. One version of that theory might be "The quarter drops through a series of whatchamacallits, but sometimes it gets stuck. IF I pound on the machine, THEN I can free up the quarter and send it on its way." Evidently, this theory is pervasive enough that many people continue to pound on machines that fail to perform (a real problem for the vending machine industry and one reason newer machines are fronted with glass.) Yet, if you were to ask these mad pounders to explain their "theory" about how the machine operates, they would look at you as if you were crazy.
    Or at least they would think you’re incorrigible if you kept asking about theory. None the less I believe, whether it is admitted or not, a therapist who manipulates has a theory “however poorly defined or understood” behind why they need to perform the HVLA thrust and what it is doing.